Ruth Lomon – Shadowing (CD)




Ruth Lomon’s SHADOWING is her debut album on Navona Records. The release showcases her remarkable skill in writing for the piano, pushing the instrument’s timbre and color to its limits to create animated sound worlds such as those of the title work, Shadowing. Lomon writes: “‘Shadowing’ means to have such a light touch, such a light tread, that one can move freely through the forest, observing without being observed… It is the equivalent of manifesting and then becoming like smoke, and then manifesting again…”

Lomon incorporates more radical colors—such as prepared piano—in Five Ceremonial Masks, which is inspired by the Navajo people in their Yeibichai Night Chant ceremonies. Native American imagery also appears in the second movement of Esquisses, “La Fête,” in which the rhythmic and melodic properties of the music are inspired by the Turtle Dance as seen by Lomon at New Mexico’s Taos Pueblo. The first movement of Esquisses, “Les Cloches,” incorporates overtone partials and change-ringing patterns of European flared tower bells, creating a distinctive pianistic color, culminating in the introspective, balladic “Memoires de…” to conclude the piece.
The album is completed with the recent The Sunflower Variations for solo piano. The colorful piece takes its theme from “The Sunflower,” a song for contralto and viola from Lomon’s earlier Five Songs after Poems by William Blake.
01 SUNFLOWER VARIATIONS  — Eileen Hutchins piano
Eileen Hutchins piano, Katherine Winterstein violin, Scott Woolweaver viola, Patrick Owen cello
02 I. Canto Hondo, Deep Song
03 II. Los Angelos Timidos, The Shyest Angels
04 III. Running with the Wolves
ESQUISSES  — Eileen Hutchins piano
05 I. Les Cloches, The Bells
06 II. La Fête, The Holiday
07 III. Mémoires de…,  Memories of…
FIVE CEREMONIAL MASKS  — Eileen Hutchins piano
08 I. Changing Woman
09 II. Dancer
10 III. Spirit
11 IV. Clown
12 V. Talking Power
A bonus performance by the composer, Ruth Lomon piano
13 I. Changing Woman
14 II. Dancer
15 III. Spirit
16 IV. Clown
17 V. Talking Power

Audio Samples

Sunflower Variations.mp3     

Deep Song.mp3     

The Shyest Angels.mp3     

The Bells.mp3     

Memories Of.mp3     

Five Ceremonial Masks-Eileen Hutchins.mp3     

Five Ceremonial Masks-Ruth Lomon.mp3